Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Book Club – Chapter 10

Leave a comment

This weeks’ book club was in the village, so I dusted off my bike, which now has a kick-stand, and I have just discovered that kick-stands do not stand on gravel, they sink.  It also has some very bright new lights and it was really cool to be able to see where I was going, at last.  The evening was as fun as ever and with very yummy food.  We are also trying to fill our vacant space, so there maybe eight of us again soon.

“Gold” by Chris Cleave was a great book.  It is about two Olympic track cyclists, the story on and off the track and their preparation for winning gold.  There was a good balance between the training and track-side, as well as the personal lives of the riders.  I really got involved with the characters, and felt for them when times were tough, and relieved for them when it went their way.  For me it was really difficult to put down.  I don’t think when it was chosen that everyone around the table was looking forward to it, but I read it pretty quickly.  I would definitely recommend it.

The next book is “You Before Me” by Jojo Moyes. Me Before You

BOOK CLUB HISTORY: “One Day” by David Nicholls; “Before I Go To Sleep” by S J Watson; “Ship of Brides” by Jojo Moyes; “Vanishing Point” by Danielle Ramsay; “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E L James; “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri; “Sworn Secret” by Amanda Jennings; “The Seamstress” by Maria Duenas; “The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window and Disappeared” by Jonas Jonasson; “Is it just me?” by “Miranda Hart and “Gold” by Chris Cleave

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

Leave a Reply

