Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

It’s just a phase…

4 Comments

Ah, these few words “it’s just a phase” they sum up so much for me – children who need extra guidance (even if they don’t want it), a struggle, shouting and tears.  It almost always leaves me doubting in my parental abilities.  Although at the worst part of “a phase”, I do know from experience that we’re about to turn a corner.

My latest battleground seems to be trying to remove two traits in children I really don’t like – rudeness and being selfish/spoilt.  My children speak to me in a way I would never have dared to, to my parents.  When I say “come on let’s have breakfast” the reply is a grumpy “no” from them both as they walk off in the other direction.  If I pick up the laptop, then it’s “when can I have a go” being asked repeatedly (and I do mean repeatedly).  If I ask them to help by getting out bowls, plates etc then it’s “why do I always have to do it all?” (at least this one makes me laugh!!)  My daughter is of the opinion that I know nothing and has to double check that I’ve done what I should have done; not so bad in itself, however the tone she uses is very unhelpful.

Whilst trying to get them to walk the mile to school in the snow last week, the whole process  took two hours, with all the coercing needed just to get out of the door, walking and then once at school.  I have to say that they both did really well.  However, on arrival Daughter announced that her new shoes (the ones we’d bought the evening before and were classed as “great”) suddenly did not fit.  The staff were amazing, read my rather desperate expression, or maybe it was “I’m going to get really angry” look, and led her off in the other direction!

So, the time has come for the Star Charts to re-appear.  There will be no film night, no visits to the sweet shop, no computer time nor Wii time until their behaviour improves.  I’ve not made it easy either, the targets are higher and there is a chance that film night on Friday may be missed.  I foresee tears.  My only hope is that lessons are learned and this phase is over sooner rather than later!. star-chart

Wish me luck!

This blog is part of Sarah Miles’ The Monday Club

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

4 thoughts on “It’s just a phase…

  1. we are having the same struggles here as well….ill be watching how you get on!!

  2. Oh gosh- I’ve heard some of those comments today myself and then I go all shouty! Good luck with the reward chart- it’s a great idea!

Leave a Reply

