Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Our Christmas

Leave a comment

As a child my Christmases were all about pulling out all the stops – best china, best crystal and the biggest turkey the oven could take, with all the trimings.  I then read Sarah Miles’ post “In Excess” about the excess of Christmas and my concern is that we have possibly swung the other way.

There will be the four of us, my parents and a great friend who is unable to be with her relatives.  Of the five adults, there are no “big eaters” and two children who are yet to appreciate the joy of roasts.  So it’s a turkey saddle and a small ham, with most of the trimmings for us.  We’re not ones for using up endless left-over turkey and so it suits us fine, but I do wonder whether I should be making more of an effort.  So, as of 8am this morning, when I suddenly realised that the good old kitchen table definitely needed a make-over. we put up more decorations and made a panic call to my Mum to see if she could pick up some table decorations I’d seen in a shop near her.

One thing I love about Christmas is the different way people do it.  As a child I don’t remember Christmas Eve as much more than wrapping presents, or helping around the house.  Our Christmas Day was Church at 10am, and I remember so well, desperately trying to get our parents to stop talking after the Service and come home to open presents.

fireplace

Whereas we spend our Christmas Eve organising the last few bits, having a visit from one of the Godfathers for a quick present opening session, and then off to the Crib Service in the afternoon.  This will be followed by a special Christmas Film Night with “Arthur Christmas” and then prepare the fireplace for the special visitor this evening.

Tomorrow is then free to join friends for drinks in the morning and rush back to get the “quick cooking” Christmas lunch.  There is an element of cheating to be able to do all this.

I love Christmas and try to make it a special time, but I do feel that it’s about family and friends, and not a table groaning under the weight of too much food.  I agree with Sarah.

themondayclub

Happy Christmas to you all.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

Leave a Reply

