Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Book Club – Chapter 7

1 Comment

I have just read Sworn Secret by Amanda Jennings. I loved it.  I recommended it to the Book Club after it was recommended by Sarah Miles (Hello Wall).  I started reading it and thought, oh this is a bit sad, but as I read on, I was more and more engrossed.   It is well written and full of twists and turns that ensure you don’t put the book down!  The more I read, the more I was reluctant to put it down and go to work.  The characters were interesting and very likeable, and for me, the strength of the book is the family.  Tragedy is all around, but the family unit is at the heart, through it’s faults, differences and underlying love.  It gives hope in a hopeless situation.  My friends in the book club enjoyed it, and one is expecting it to be made into an ITV drama.

Our book club was a quiet affair compared to normal, mainly because we were three down in number, and it was a dark, wet night, so more car drivers than bike ridersl!  Here’s hoping for some drier weather next time.

We were talking about our great friend that left, and who should fill her shoes (if anyone can).  We even have a waiting list to join!!  It’s mainly due to the fact that we don’t want more than 8 in the group, so that we can all fit around each others’ tables, and we don’t have a group that splits into two.

Our next book is “The Seamstress” by Maria Duenas.  It is a  story of danger, espionage, romance and war, The Seamstress is a WWII tale like no other.

 

 

BOOKS SO FAR:  “One Day” by David Nicholls; “Before I Go To Sleep” by S J Watson; “Ship of Brides” by Jojo Moyes; “Vanishing Point” by Danielle Ramsay; “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E L James; “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri and “Sworn Secret” by Amanda Jennings.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

One thought on “Book Club – Chapter 7

  1. Glad you liked it! Like the idea of a tv drama!

Leave a Reply

