Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Back to the 80s?

1 Comment

As I settle down to witter on a Wednesday, courtesy of Hello Wall, I see that a friend on Facebook tells me that Dallas has returned to our screens, with the same Bobby, same JR and same Sue Ellen (all looking rather older and stretched).

So, in only five minutes Bobby has been told he has cancer, his son, Christopher is now the “energy tycoon” who has been discovered making out in the tennis locker room with his fiance by an older neighbour, then of course there is friction between JR Jnr and Bobby Jnr – so it really will be the same old thing, just a generation younger; and I’m sure they are going to fight over the same girl.  However I’ll not bore you with a blow by blow account.

My plea to the writers is that they come up with new story lines – they’ve done the one when one of the character wakes up after a bad dream, in which he had died (which was basically wiping out the whole of the last series); I can’t imagine there will be the hype of “who shot JR” (either junior or senior); and can the family stay together without “Mama” at the helm.  Only will time will tell.

I am left wondering which other telly series from the 80s that might be revived – Dynasty, Howard’s Way, Cagney and Lacey, Blankety Blank, Blind Date, Fame, Cheers, Miami Vice, Dukes of Hazard.  Personally, I’m not convinced about any of these, in my opinion they have had their day.  Although there are a couple of programmes that have survived the years – Countdown and Only Fools and Horses.

Whether I remember to watch Dallas next week remains to be seen.  I am sure that I will be tuning into The Accused, Masterchef, Miranda, and (soon) Strictly Come Dancing – to name a few.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

One thought on “Back to the 80s?

  1. I so miss watching UK telly but I think i could give Dallas a miss. Love The accused and Masterchef but could give all the others you mentioned a miss too. Missing Holby the most. xxA

Leave a Reply

