Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Tooth Fairy

2 Comments

An exiting day – Daughter has her first wobbly tooth.

She’s very organised and likes to have everything sorted in her mind, so she had lots of questions this evening: What happens if I lose the tooth?; What happens if I swallow the tooth?; Which coin does the Tooth Fairy leave?; Is there only one Tooth Fairy?  After answering them all, she sighed and said, “but I’m really worried Mummy”!  I’m not sure what her friends have said, but she is, as ever, thinking through all the possibilities and worrying about lots of them that might never happen!  Once I had answered all the queries and worries, she asked if I was telling the truth!  My reply was simply, “of course”.  That might not be entirely true, but as long as she doesn’t see this, I might get away with it.

The wobbly one is one of the bottom middle teeth, and behind it is the big tooth pushing it’s way through.  The Dentist, at our last visit in April, said that he could see the big teeth coming through and she would soon have a wobbly tooth, or two.  How right he was!

I have just done a Facebook survey about what the Tooth Fairy currently pays, and it seems to average £1.  The “tightest” Fairy pays in shillings and the the maximum seems to be £3 if you swallow it, £2 if you lose it and £1 for those left on the bedside table/under the pillow.  Alternatively it’s £2 for the first one and £1 thereafter.   As one friend said – if it’s too much children might start pulling out their teeth!  Another one said the due to the recession the Tooth Fairy leaves an IOU, but I’m not prepared to suggest this latter possibility to our Daughter.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

2 thoughts on “Tooth Fairy

  1. How exciting. When the tooth does finally come out, get her to write to the tooth fairy and ask all the unanswered questions. So exciting in the morning when they get a reply. Good luck, I hope it falls out quickly and painlessly!…

Leave a Reply

