Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Salesmen

Leave a comment

I don’t know about you, but I get very irritated with salesman, the door-to-door variety.  The part I really dislike is the fact that you have to sign the paperwork then and there, because you have the “cooling off period” in case you change your mind.  Why can’t they give you the chance to think about it in the peace of your own home (not whilst they are sitting next to you), and then you call them when you’ve decided? I’m sure someone in Sales and Marketing can answer that (and I can guess the reason), but I don’t like it.

Recently we had a solar panel bod turn up on the doorstep.  This is something we have been interested in, and so Husband made an appointment.  Husband then did lots of fact finding, so we knew quite a bit before the salesman turned up.  The rate paid for this electricity is changing from 21p to 16p at the end of July, so we knew there’d be a bit of pressure.

The salesman stayed for almost three hours, partly because Daughter refused to settle and either Husband or I had to keep going upstairs to settle her; these sales pitches seem to take at least an hour, and we had lots of questions.  I remember a double-glazing salesman who took umbridge when I asked if it would last much longer, after an hour and pick-up time was looming, but I digress, more about that later.

He left saying, because of the deadline, we’d hear very soon.  We didn’t.  We’ve rung Head Office and said if it is not done by this deadline, then we’re not interested.  Still waiting.

I should add at this point that we don’t make a habit of letting in the door-to-door salesman, we usually do research ourselves and contact companies as and when.  I am naturally sceptical of them and the aforementioned double-glazing salesman proved my point.  The story was that he his company, Pure, knocked on the door, we made an appointment, then salesman got grumpy because I asked how much longer it was going to last, after nearly an hour.  He then gave us a quote on a flyer, and when we tried to find out more about the company, we could not even find a website, and we had not seen any headed paper or business card.  The price was great, but both Husband and I had a feeling of “too good to be true”, so we decided to go with a local company, who were recommended, and although a bit more expensive, we were more confident that we would get a good service – we did.  However having turned down “Pure” they kept ringing us for many weeks.  Thank goodness for caller ID.

Meanwhile the solar panel company is starting work very soon.  Exciting.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

Leave a Reply

