Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Long lost brother

Leave a comment

I’m really excited because my big brother is coming home this week for a mini hols.  He has lived overseas for many years, on cruise ships and more recently on mega yachts, working for the filthy rich and being at their beck and call.  He’s worked his way up from Deckhand to First Mate, and has done his Skipper Exams.  We’ve never seen much of him once he took to the seas, but it’s a life he’s loved.

As young adults, I was the one travelling to many far flung places, at every possible opportunity, and he was at home working.  Somewhere in the last “however many” years, we’ve swapped and he’s been the one whizzing around the world, well across the oceans, and I’ve been the stay-at-home, married, mortgage and bringing up a family.  It still amuses me how we have changed.  However, he’s now hung up his sailing boots and lives in Nice, and works in Monaco – not so bad, particularly when his last facebook page said something about it being too hot to sunbathe!

I miss him and I can’t wait to see him.  Roll on Thursday evening!

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

Leave a Reply

