Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Another week

2 Comments

Well, it’s Friday film night again, and I’m sure it was not that long since the last one.  The week has been more eventful that I would wished.  Daughter has needed more of my time, and it’s taken me too long to cotton on to this.  She was mucking around at school and making sure that she “pushed all the buttons” as far as I was concerned, when all she really wanted was Mummy time.  I had slipped into “accidental parenting” and dealt with Son first because he made more noise and was more demanding – and this happened every time.  She is a very capable girl and my expectations can be too high.  I forget she is only 6 and sometimes needs help with the little things in life, particularly from Mummy.  So I am guilty as charged, and have had a very honest look at the way I do things.

Husband found this:

“Listen earnestly to anything your children want to tell you, no matter what.  If you don’t listen eagerly to the little stuff when they are little, they won’t tell you the big stuff when they are big, because to them all of it has always been big stuff.”  Catherine M Wallace.

How true.

So I have made some instant changes to our busy, fast, crazy lifestyle, which are all about spending more time with children, listening to them more and most importantly having more fun with them.  I just hope my new changes will survive the test of time.  Of course only time will tell.

 

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

2 thoughts on “Another week

  1. Great quote! I need to heed that….

    Hope the weekend is better x

Leave a Reply

