Bit Of Me Time

Searching for more time …

Book Club – Chapter 11

Leave a comment

Well, it was my turn this time and it’s taken me quite a while to choose a book – there are so many good ones out there.  I reduced the list to 7 and almost made the final choice by closing my eyes and picking one.  However, I did manage to make a grown up decision, and our next book will be “Jasmine Nights” by Julia Gregson.

Jasmine

We have also persuaded someone to join our club to “replace” the friend who moved to KL last year.  I’m not sure if she has had a chance to read the book, but it was great fun to get her round the table for a few glasses and a giggle.  Again I used my friends as “guinea pigs” and tried out “Vodka Pasta” by Nigella Lawson and an easy pudding of Eton Mess.  All yummy, even though I say it myself.  The other issue I had to deal with, was a great idea started by “long lost friend” that when you host the Book Club you also have to write a poem, read it out and email it to her.  It’s still on my “to do” list.

This post seems to be backwards, as I’ve started with the new book, then the meal and poem and am only now getting round to discussing the book we were reading – “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes.  I loved it.  It is about a young girl who gets a job looking after a young man in a wheelchair, after an accident, for which she has no experience.  I thought the way she described how he felt about his disability, the frustration, the loss of his old life, the lack of decisions that he was left to make, and all the other emotions was amazing.  I felt her frustrations too, of trying to chivvy him on and get him to do something.   I have no personal experience of knowing anyone in a wheelchair, and these are just my ramblings, but it has certainly made me think about the bigger picture.  It was a wonderful read and we all ended with tears falling down our cheeks.  This is our second book by Jojo Moyes and I’ll be back for more soon.

Author: Sophie Adam

A mother of two, wife of one and a dog to complete the set. I work full time and spend my free hours making sure school bags are packed, birthdays remembered and bills paid. My life is fun, chaotic, challenging and fast.. and I wouldn't change it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.